About Us > Committees


Competitions Committee

  • Chair – Burton Morrison (Director of Competitions)
  • Role – The committee is responsible for integrating fixtures including postponements, excluding Schools Camanachd and Women’s Camanachd Association competitions.
  • Members – Astie Cameron (Operations & Events Manager), Ian MacLean, Kevin Thain, Ian Brown, Davie Hamilton, Davie Thomson.

Youth Committee

  • Chair – Willie MacDonald (Director of Youth)
  • Role – The committee is responsible for the youth fixture calendar, youth player development, youth byelaws and child protection.
  • Members – Ronald Ross (Regional Development Manager), Katie Drain (Regional Development Officer – North), Paul MacArthur (Regional Development Officer – Central), Donald Wilson, Lyndsay Bradley, Iain MacKintosh, Davie Pringle.

Finance Committee

  • Chair – Keith Loades 
  • Role – The committee is responsible for all financial matters including budgeting and management reporting, resources, equipment, IT and income.
  • Members –  Derek Keir (Chief Executive Officer), Deborah MacPherson (Finance & Administration Manager), Jim Barr (Former President), Daniel Palombo (Director) and Keith Loades (Former President).

Officials Committee

  • Chair – Lyndsey Bradley (Director of Officials)
  • Role – The committee is responsible for recruitment and training of all assessors and recruitment, training and grading of all referees, goal judges and linesmen and allocation of officials to matches including cup finals.
  • Members – Paul MacArthur (Regional Development Officer), Astie Cameron (Advisory – Operations & Events Manager), Graham Cormack (Advisory – National Development Manager), Donald Robertson, Ian MacPhee and Camanachd Referees Association representative.

Communications & Facilities Committee (North)

  • Chair – John Finlayson 
  • Role – The committee is responsible for sponsorship, press relations, branding, income generation and communications.
  • Members – Derek Keir (Chief Executive Officer), Aarron Macleod & TBC

Communications and Facilities Committee (South)

  • Chair - Roddy McCuish
  • Members - Derek Keir, Astie Cameron, Alex Edmondson (A&B), Les Kinvig, Oban High School.

Club Coaching & Development - Equality, Diversity and Inclusion 

  • Chair – Ross Brown (Director) 
  • Role – The committee is responsible for ensuring the effective delivery and development of initiatives that underpin the technical development of players, coaches, and other volunteers in shinty. To include, but not restricted to: Child Protection, Club governance, Accreditation, Development Pathways, Performance, Coaching, Playing skills, Personal Fitness and Development, Training, Evaluation and Elite sport development
  • Members – Graham Cormack, Drew McNeil, Ronald Ross, Neil Bowman

Disciplinary Committee

  • Chair – Ian MacPhee
  • Discipline Administrator – Derek Keir (Chief Executive Officer)
  • Role – The Disciplinary Committee shall deal with all matters relating to players, substitutes and Team Managers / Coaches during the course of a match, referred by a Referee; or players, referred by the system of Standard Disciplinary Points.
  • Members – Donald Robertson, Douglas MacDougall

Behaviour in Sport Committee

  • Chair – John MacKenzie
  • Discipline Administrator – Derek Keir (Chief Executive Officer)
  • Role – The Behaviour in Sport Committee deals with all complaints of Misconduct apart from complaints relating to Players, Substitutes and Team Managers / Coaches during the course of a match. Also with Protests lodged and disputes arising in relation to Transfer of Players.
  • Members – David MacMaster, Archie Robertson, Jim Barr

Appeals Committee

  • Chair – Agreed by members prior to meetings.
  • Role – The Appeals Committee determines appeals against decisions of the Disciplinary or Behaviour in Sport Committees and determines or make recommendations on disciplinary issues referred to it by the Association.
  • Discipline Administrator – Derek Keir (Chief Executive Officer)
  • Members – Alan Hill, Alastair MacIntyre, George Hendry, Duncan MacPhee.

Representative Committee

  • Chair – Ross Brown (Director of Performance & Equality and Inclusion)
  • Role – The Representative Committee is responsible for the appointment national coaches and the planning of the shinty/hurling internationals.
  • Members – Archie Robertson, Derek Keir (Chief Executive Officer), Astie Cameron (Operations & Events Manager), Ronald Ross, Alan MacRae, Richard Gall, Alice MacRae, Lisa MacColl.

Club Leadership (Volunteers) & Young People

  • Chair - Kirsty Deans
  • Members - Katie Drain

Platinum Sponsors

Partner Sponsors

Connect With Us

© 2017 Shinty.com