Inverlochy Primary retain the Clydesdale Bank MacKay Cup

The Clydesdale Bank MacKay Cup Final, the blue ribbon competition for Primary Schools took place at the Eilan, Newtonmore on Friday 5th July saw holders Inverlochy take on Newtonmore and the strong and talented visiting side won through in the end after a finely balanced first half.

Lex Edgar scored first for Inverlochy in just the third minute, but Joe Coyle levelled for Newtonmore two minutes later. Towards the end of the first half, Newtonmore looked certain to go two-one up, but the Inverlochy keeper pulled out all the stops to make a fine save and shortly after Matthew Brown restored the Inverlochy advantage with a well taken goal just four minutes before the turn.

In the second half, Inverlochy’s strength proved to be the deciding factor and goals from Archie MacKinnon on 51 minutes, James Clark on 59 and Fergus Ward, two minutes before the end of the game saw them lift the trophy for the second year in a row.

The one consolation for Newtonmore was that Joe Coyle won the Anne Cameron Quaich for player of the match for a dogged and skilful display from the opening whistle to the end.

It’s an often over-worked cliche that ‘shinty was the winner, but when two teams of primary school age children can put on a show of such skills, clean hitting and determination at this young age, there can be no doubt that in future years, as these children move up the ladder, shinty will indeed prove to be the winner.

More News

Platinum Sponsors

Partner Sponsors

Connect With Us

© 2017