New Squad & New Sponsor For Scotland U17 Ireland Tour

(L to R): Sitekit founder Campbell Grant, Skye players Martin Pringle, Ross Gordon and Jamie Gillies, and Sitekit CEO Elgar Finlay.

The Camanachd Association is pleased to announce the Scotland Under 17 squad and a new sponsor ahead of their 2019 Ireland tour. 

The annual tour, which has been taking place for over twenty years, sees the country’s elite shinty players, many of whom played in the previous year’s North vs South U17 match, play shinty / hurling challenge matches against their hurling counterparts from Kildare and Dublin.  

This year’s tour will be sponsored by Sitekit, a technology company headquartered on the Isle of Skye and now with offices in London and Edinburgh servicing the digital health and cyber security markets. 

Sitekit founder Campbell Grant, himself a former shinty player with Glasgow University, Aberdeen Camanachd and Skye Camanachd in the 1980s, said: “Sitekit is proud to sponsor the Scotland U17s tour. We have a long connection with the sport and we wish the team and all those involved every success and a safe trip.”   

Camanachd Association Youth Director, Willie MacDonald, added: “We are delighted to have Sitekit’s support for this year’s tour. The Scotland Under 17 Squad, and the tour itself, is an integral part of shinty’s player pathway; it is the last opportunity for players to test themselves before preparing to step up to Under 21 and senior level.  This year’s squad is made up of some highly skilful players, most of whom already hold spots in their own club’s first team. I am in no doubt that we will see some excellent displays of shinty / hurling skill.”  

This year’s squad is:  

Ryan Craig                                  Bute

Cam Clark                                  Kilmallie

Cameron MacIntosh                    Glenurquhart

Ryan Boyle                                 Fort William

Jamie Gillies                               Skye Camanachd

Calum Grover                             Newtonmore

Liam Borthwick                            Kingussie

Duncan Matheson                       Kinlochshiel                                          

Kieran MacPherson                     Kingussie

Daniel Sloss                                Oban Camanachd

Ross Gordon                              Skye Camanachd                       

Conor Kennedy                           Kyles Athletic

Alistair MacRae                           Fort William

Lewis Clark                                 Fort William

Martin Pringle                              Skye Camanachd

William MacKinnon                      Skye Camanachd

Lachie Shaw                               Fort William

The squad travels across to Dublin on Sunday 28 July 2019, taking in the All Ireland semi-final at Croke Park, and return on Wednesday 31 July 2019.

More News

Platinum Sponsors

Partner Sponsors

Connect With Us

© 2017