Newtonmore Record 42nd MacTavish Cup Final Success

Newtonmore lifted the MacTavish Cup for the 42nd time, coming from behind to beat Kinlochshiel 2-1 at The Bught Park on Saturday 16 June 2018.

It was a big day for youngsters Cameron Kennedy (Kinlochshiel) and Calum Tuckwood (Newtonmore) who earned the right to be mascots by coming top from a large list of entrants to a shinty skills competition organised by tournament sponsors 

Both teams boasted a number of Scottish Internationalists for this 4.05pm throw up in the Inverness rain with the match televised live on BBC ALBA. 

Just ahead of throw up, Camanachd Association President Keith Loades accompanied Wendy Halliday and Stuart Walkden from the sponsors as they were introduced to the players and officials and there followed a minute’s silence to remember Newtonmore Chieftain David Cheyne who passed away recently.

After an early period of Newtonmore pressure, Kinlochshiel came more into the game and they took the lead on 31 minutes. John MacRae prevented the Newtonmore backline from dealing with an Ali Nixon’s cross from the right and Keith MacRae was on hand to turn the ball low into the net from close range.

Evan Menzies twice went close before he drew Newtonmore level on the stroke of half-time. Menzies took a short pass from Steven MacDonald and fired goalwards from a central position with the ball deflecting into the net off ‘Shiel defender Finlay MacRae.

The next goal was always going to be crucial and it was Newtonmore who got their noses in front on 54 minutes. Michael Russell touched a clearance out of defence on to Iain Robinson who turned his marker on the ‘More right and he took the ball into the D before slotting low into the net to make it 2-1.

There were chances at both ends during the final 30 minutes and Newtonmore manager Paul John MacKintosh used his substitutes to good effect and, following 6 minutes stoppage, referee Calum Girvan blew for time and the Newtonmore celebrations began.   

This was a third consecutive MacTavish success for Newtonmore and gives them the first senior silverware of the 2018 shinty season. 

There was some consolation for Kinlochshiel as their captain Paul MacRae was named man of the match, receiving the Tom MacKenzie man of the match award.

Newtonmore captain Andy MacKintosh was presented with both the MacTavish Cup and silver-mounted caman by Wendy Halliday from sponsors   


Kinlochshiel from: Scott Kennedy; Finlay MacRae, David Falconer, Mark MacDonald, Conor Cormack; Donald Nixon, Paul MacRae (captain), Oliver MacRae; Ali Nixon, Jordan Fraser, Keith MacRae, John MacRae; subs Duncan “DA” MacRae, Scott MacLean, Duncan “WD” MacRae, Duncan Matheson, Graham Kennedy

Newtonmore from: Kenny Ross; Rory Kennedy, Craig Ritchie, Norman Campbell, Andy MacKintosh (captain); David MacLean, Fraser MacKintosh, Jamie Robinson; Michael Russell, Steven MacDonald, Evan Menzies, Iain Robinson; subs Glen MacKintosh, Neil Stewart, Drew MacDonald, Ewen Fraser, Conor Jones


Match Referee - Calum Girvan

Goal Judges - Brian MacKay & Steven MacLachlan

Linesmen - Iain Kennedy & Shane Warde

Fourth Official - Andy MacLean

More News

Platinum Sponsors

Partner Sponsors

Connect With Us

© 2017