Oban Camanachd Lift 2018 Scottish Sea Farms Glasgow Celtic Society Cup

Oban Camanachd lifted the Scottish Sea Farms Glasgow Celtic Society Cup after beating Kyles Athletic 2-0 in the final at the Taynuilt Sports Field on Saturday 30 June 2018.  

The pitch was in great condition as the players took the field on a hot afternoon.

Kyles Athletic manager James Perlich was without both Roddy MacDonald and Donald Irvine whilst Oban Camanachd boss Ian Hay named a full squad.Oban Camanachd made the better start and they took the lead on 12 minutes. David Lafferty played in a corner from the right and Andrew MacCuish ghosted inside the D where he took the ball down before hitting it on the bounce past John Whyte in the Kyles goal.  

The Oban side continued to press and they added a second on 33 minutes. Andrew MacCuish sprayed a pass wide to Aidan MacIntyre on the Oban left and MacCuish ran forward to turn the return ball into the net to make it 2-0.

Kyles finished the first half strongly and they also looked lively from the restart.However they were reduced to eleven players on 65 minutes when referee Ross Brown sent off Andrew King for violent conduct.  

Kyles created chance and Oban Camanachd keeper Cameron Sutherland made good saves to deny Grant Irvine and Innes MacDonald and the Tighnabruaich men couldn’t get the goal that would set up a grandstand finish.

Referee Ross Brown’s final whistle signalled a first Oban Camanachd trophy success since 2005 when they last won the same competition.

Young Oban Camanachd defender Daniel Sloss was awarded the Donald J MacNiven medal for man of the match.  

Oban Camanachd captain Daniel Cameron was presented with the Glasgow Celtic Society Cup by sponsors Scottish Sea Farms.  

Kyles Athletic from: John Whyte; Callum Miller, Cameron Keith (captain), Neil MacVicar, Andrew King; Dunkie Kerr, Grant Irvine, Thomas Whyte; Robbie MacLeod, Gordon Whyte, Sandy MacKenzie, Scott MacDonald; subs Innes MacDonald, Ross MacRae, Colin MacDonald, George Thomson

Oban Camanachd from: Cameron Sutherland; Garry Lord, Scott MacKillop, Daniel Sloss, Daniel Cameron (captain); David Lafferty, Scott MacMillan; Malcolm Clark; Lorne Dickie, Aidan MacIntyre, Andrew MacCuish, Daniel MacVicar; subs Daniel MacCuish, Chrissy MacMillan, Willie Neilson, Matt Rippon, Craig MacDougall, Keith MacMillan

Match Referee – Ross Brown   

More News

Connect With Us

Website made by Sugar Rush Creative

© 2017